Refine results | Home

Former Member of Parliament Details

  Hon Sir Arthur Blyth KCMG CB


Full Name Sir Arthur Blyth KCMG CB
Date of Birth 19 Mar 1823
QualificationsKCMG (1877), CB (1886)
Prior EmploymentGeneral Agent and Merchant in family business
Promoter Northern Pastoral Company
Assessor for the Adelaide City Corporation
Public ActivitiesSir Arthur Blyth came to Adelaide with his family at the age of sixteen years and went into business with his brother as an ironmonger. He was director of the National Bank and the Burra Mines before entering politics as the member for Yatala in 1855. He was a member of the Lower House for the electorate of Gumeracha from the years 1857 to 1868 and 1870 to 1875, and for North Adelaide from 1875 until 1877. Literate, efficient and well-read, Blyth was well regarded by his peers, an opinion reflected in his multiple nominations to office
he holds the record for the number of portfolios managed during the first forty years of government in South Australia, and was sworn into office twelve times. His appointments included Commissioner of Public Works, Treasurer and Chief Secretary. He also held three Premierships: for seven months in 1864-65, three months in 1871-72 and then from 1873 to 1875. During his final stint as Premier, Blyth survived three motions of censure on the third day of his government, continuing to govern for nearly two years before a resolution of dissatisfaction with the Blyth Ministry forced his resignation. This Government did little to tackle the urgent problems of the day, and although reputed to be a man of 'great common sense' it is fair to say that Blyth's political successes were minor and of second rate importance. He was appointed Agent-General for South Australia in London after F. S. Dutton's death, and although criticised for being out of touch with the colony's affairs, he held the post until his death in 1891.
Deceased07 Dec 1891


DateHouseDistrictPartyReason (If Retired)
21 Sep 1855 - 02 Feb 1857Legislative CouncilYatala Pre-Party SystemNot Re-elected
26 Feb 1857 - 20 Apr 1868House of AssemblyGumerachaPre-Party SystemNot Re-elected
05 Apr 1870 - 09 Feb 1875House of AssemblyGumerachaPre-Party SystemNot Re-elected
10 Feb 1875 - 21 Feb 1877House of AssemblyNorth AdelaidePre-Party SystemAccepted Office


Offices Held

expand / collapse detail
21 Feb 1877Former Member

Ministerial Appointment

expand / collapse detail
21 Aug 1857 - 01 Sep 1857Commissioner of Public Works
12 Jun 1858 - 09 May 1860Commissioner of Public Works
08 Oct 1861 - 17 Oct 1861Treasurer
19 Feb 1862 - 04 Jul 1863Treasurer
04 Aug 1864 - 22 Mar 1865Commissioner of Crown Lands and Immigration
04 Aug 1864 - 22 Mar 1865Premier
20 Sep 1865 - 23 Oct 1965Treasurer
28 Mar 1866 - 03 May 1867Chief Secretary
10 Nov 1871 - 10 Nov 1871Commissioner of Crown Lands and Immigration
10 Nov 1871 - 22 Jan 1872Premier
10 Nov 1871 - 22 Jan 1872Treasurer
22 Jul 1873 - 03 Jun 1875Chief Secretary
22 Jul 1873 - 03 Jun 1875Premier
25 Mar 1876 - 06 Jun 1876Treasurer
Refine results | Home